Voice 2018 Application
Deadline: December 15, 2017

General Information for Applicants

The Voice 2018 edition of the CMIM is an elite-level international competition open to women and men of all nationalities, born January 1, 1983 or later, who are intending to pursue a professional singing career.

All eligible singers may choose to apply to one or both of Voice 2018’s two divisions: singers applying to compete in the Aria division will perform music from the repertoire for voice and orchestra (opera, oratorio, cantata, mass, concert arias, orchestral songs, etc.); singers applying to compete in the Art Song division will perform music from the repertoire for voice and piano (French mélodie, German lied, English art song, etc.).

First Prize laureates from previous CMIM voice editions are not eligible to apply.

PRIZES, AWARDS AND GRANTS

A total of $260,000 in prizes will be awarded in the following categories:

Aria

  • ‘Jon Vickers’ First Prize ($30,000) + ‘Joseph Rouleau’ Career Development Grant ($50,000)
  • ‘Raoul Jobin’ Second Prize ($15,000)
  • ‘Teresa Stratas’ Third Prize ($10,000)
  • Opera Aria Award ($5,000)
  • Oratorio Award ($5,000)
  • People’s Choice Award ($3,000)
  • Best Canadian Artist Award ($3,000)
  • Three (3) CMIM Grants for unranked finalists ($2,000 each)

Art Song

  • ‘Léopold Simoneau’ First Prize ($30,000) + ‘James Norcop’ Career Development Grant ($50,000)
  • ‘Maureen Forrester’ Second Prize ($15,000)
  • ‘Lois Marshall’ Third Prize ($10,000)
  • French Mélodie Award ($5,000)
  • German Lied Award ($5,000)
  • People’s Choice Award ($3,000)
  • Best Canadian Artist Award ($3,000)
  • CMIM Grant for the unranked finalist ($2,000)

Piano

  • ‘John Newmark’ Best Collaborative Pianist Award ($10,000)

IMPORTANT DATES

  • Dec. 15, 2017: application deadline
  • Mar. 1, 2018: preliminary selection announced
  • May 27, 2018: Voice 2018 official opening
  • May 28-30, 2018: Aria + Art Song First Round
  • Jun. 1, 2018: Art Song Semifinal
  • Jun. 3, 2018: Art Song Final
  • Jun. 4-5, 2018: Aria Semifinal
  • Jun. 7, 2018: Aria Final

APPLICATION PROCESS

Applications must be submitted online via concoursmontreal.ca by December 15, 2017.

Only one application is required per candidate, even if applying to both divisions of the competition.

An application comprises the following:

  • a completed online application form (including proposed repertoire for all competition rounds)
  • a non-refundable application fee of $150 CAD
  • two (2) high-resolution colour photographs (including one headshot) suitable for publication and promotional purposes
  • contact information for two (2) references willing to submit a letter of recommendation in support of the applicant
  • three (3) audition videos per division entered (one video per song/aria):
    • Aria applicants: three (3) different arias performed with piano accompaniment, from the standard repertoire for solo voice and orchestra, in at least two (2) different languages.
    • Art Song applicants: three (3) different songs from the standard art song repertoire in their original versions, in at least two (2) different languages, with at least one song by Franz Schubert.

All audition videos must be high-quality with excellent audio, shot from one angle with a single fixed camera (no zooming, tilting, or panning), with the singer’s face fully visible at all times. Videos must not be edited, enhanced or modified in any way. All recordings must be made after July 1, 2016.

SELECTION PROCESS

CMIM officials will review all of the applications to ensure they are complete and meet the required technical standards. The CMIM reserves the right to disqualify any candidate who has failed to fulfill all of the application requirements.

A preliminary selection committee appointed by the CMIM will review and evaluate the video auditions. A maximum of 40 singers (24 for Aria and 16 for Art Song) will be selected to compete in Voice 2018. Singers who apply for both divisions should be prepared to compete in both divisions if selected.

Singers will be notified of the preliminary selection results by March 1, 2018.

All competitors are required to be in Montreal from May 27 through June 7, 2018 (travel and accommodation provided, see below).

COMPETITION ROUNDS AND REPERTOIRE

Aria

  • First Round: No more than 24 competitors will each perform a 15-minute programme with piano accompaniment which must include at least three (3) arias from the standard repertoire in at least two (2) different languages. The 12 singers who receive the highest scores from the international jury will move on to the semifinal round.
  • Semifinal: 12 semifinalists will each perform a 14- to 18-minute programme with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal which must include three (3) arias in at least two different languages. The six (6) singers who receive the highest scores from the international jury will move on to the final round.
  • Final: Six (6) finalists will each perform a 14- to 18-minute programme with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal which must include three (3) arias in at least two (2) different languages.

Art Song

  • First Round: No more than 16 competitors will each perform a 15-minute programme of works for voice and piano which must include repertoire in French, English, and German, with at least one song by Franz Schubert. The eight (8) singers who receive the highest scores from the international jury will move on to the semifinal round.
  • Semifinal: Eight (8) semifinalists will each perform a 20- to 25-minute programme of works for voice and piano which must include repertoire in French, German, and at least one (1) other language. The four (4) singers who receive the highest scores from the international jury will move on to the final round.
  • Final: Four (4) finalists will each perform a half-recital of 30 to 35 minutes of works for voice and piano which must include repertoire in at least three (3) different languages.

Repertoire selected for performance during the competition rounds may include any of the works recorded for the audition videos. Competitors in the Aria category may repeat one (1) aria from their first round programme on their final programme. No other duplication of repertoire is permitted in the competition rounds.

Singers applying in the Aria category must select their semifinal and final repertoire from the CMIM’s official list.

Singers in the Aria category who opt to include at least one aria from an oratorio, cantata, mass or passion in their semifinal or final programme are eligible for the Oratorio Award.

Singers are encouraged to bring their own collaborative pianists to Montreal for the competition (at their own expense). Pianists of all nationalities, born January 1, 1983 or later, who perform in competition at Voice 2018 will be eligible for the ‘John Newmark’ Award ($10,000). Singers without accompanists will be assigned to an official CMIM pianist for all competition rounds requiring piano.

TRAVEL AND ACCOMMODATION

CMIM will provide one (1) return economy-class flight from the singer’s home base to Montreal. Candidates who wish to make alternate travel arrangements may do so at their own expense. Travel is not provided for pianists.

CMIM will also arrange for free accommodation for the singer (and their accompanist, if applicable) with volunteer host families in the Montreal area. Candidates who wish to make other arrangements may do so at their own expense.

CMIM officials reserve the right to make changes, if necessary, to any of the information contained in this application.

For further information please contact:
Scott Tresham, Director of Artistic Operations and Strategy
Concours musical international de Montréal
stresham@concoursmontreal.ca
+1 514.845.4108 (ext. 235)

Begin new Application

The password must contains a minimum of 8 characters, with at least one uppercase letter and one digit.

Formulaire d'inscription Chant 2018
Date limite d'inscription: 15 décembre 2017

Informations générales pour les candidats

L’édition Chant 2018 du CMIM est une compétition internationale de haut niveau ouverte aux femmes et aux hommes de toutes nationalités, nés le ou après le 1er janvier 1983, qui ont l’intention de poursuivre une carrière professionnelle.

Tous les chanteurs éligibles peuvent choisir de s’inscrire à l’un ou l’autre ou aux deux volets de l’édition 2018 du concours: les candidats s’inscrivant au volet Aria interprèteront des œuvres tirées du répertoire pour voix et orchestre (opéra, oratorio, cantate, messe, airs de concert, cycles de chansons symphoniques, etc.); les candidats s’inscrivant au volet Mélodie interprèteront des œuvres tirées du répertoire pour voix et piano (mélodie française, lied allemand, mélodie anglaise, etc.).

Les lauréats du Premier prix des éditions de chant précédentes du CMIM sont inadmissibles.

PRIX ET BOURSES

260 000 $ en prix seront remis dans les catégories suivantes :

Aria

  • Premier prix (30 000 $) + Bourse de développement de carrière Joseph-Rouleau (50 000 $)
  • Deuxième prix Pierre-Péladeau et Raymonde-Chopin (15 000 $)
  • Troisième prix (10 000 $)
  • Prix Air d’opéra (5 000 $)
  • Prix Oratorio (5 000 $)
  • Prix du public (3 000 $)
  • Prix du meilleur artiste canadien (3 000 $)
  • Trois (3) bourses du CMIM aux finalistes non-classés (2 000 $ chacune)

Mélodie

  • Premier prix Léopold-Simoneau (30 000 $) + Bourse de développement de carrière James-Norcop (50 000 $)
  • Deuxième prix Maureen-Forrester (15 000 $)
  • Troisième prix Lois-Marshall (10 000 $)
  • Prix Mélodie française (5 000 $)
  • Prix Lied allemand (5 000 $)
  • Prix du public (3 000 $)
  • Prix du meilleur artiste canadien (3 000 $)
  • Bourse du CMIM au finaliste non-classé (2 000 $)

Piano

  • Prix du meilleur pianiste accompagnateur John-Newmark (10 000 $)

DATES IMPORTANTES

  • 15 décembre 2017 : date limite d’inscription
  • 1er mars 2018 : sélection préliminaire dévoilée
  • 27 mai 2018 : ouverture officielle du concours
  • 7 juin 2018 : clôture officielle du concours

MODALITÉS D’INSCRIPTION

Les inscriptions doivent être soumises en ligne via le site concoursmontreal.ca avant le 15 décembre 2017.

Une seule inscription est requise par candidat, même si l’inscription est aux deux volets du concours.

Une inscription complète doit nécessairement inclure :

  • formulaire d’inscription complété en ligne (incluant le programme de chacune des trois épreuves)
  • les frais d’inscription non-remboursables de 150 $ CA
  • deux (2) photographies couleur en haute résolution (incluant un photo-portrait) à être utilisées pour la publicité et la promotion
  • les coordonnées de deux (2) références aptes à soumettre une lettre de recommandation en appui à la candidature
  • trois (3) vidéos d’audition par volet (une vidéo par œuvre/aria) :
    • candidatures pour Aria : trois (3) airs différents donnés avec accompagnement de piano, tirés du répertoire courant pour soliste et orchestre, dans au moins deux (2) langues différentes ;
    • candidatures pour Mélodie : trois (3) œuvres différentes tirées du répertoire original courant pour voix et piano, dans au moins deux (2) langues différentes, avec au moins un (1) air de Franz Schubert.

Toutes les vidéos d’audition doivent être de haute qualité avec une excellente prise de son, filmées avec une seule caméra fixe (sans zoom, inclinaison ou de prise de vue panoramique), le visage du chanteur étant pleinement visible en permanence. Les vidéos ne doivent pas être montées, améliorées ou modifiées de quelque façon que ce soit. Tous les enregistrements doivent être réalisés après le 1er juillet 2016.

PROCESSUS DE SÉLECTION

La direction du CMIM passera en revue toutes les candidatures afin de s’assurer qu’elles sont complètes et répondent aux normes techniques requises. Le CMIM se réserve le droit de disqualifier tout candidat qui n’a pas satisfait à toutes les exigences de la demande.

Un comité de sélection préliminaire désigné par le CMIM visionnera et évaluera les vidéos d’auditions. Un maximum de 40 candidatures (24 pour le volet Aria et 16 pour le volet Mélodie) seront choisies pour prendre part à l’édition Chant 2018 du concours. Les candidats inscrits au deux (2) volets doivent s’attendre à participer aux deux volets, si tel est le cas.

Les candidats seront avisés des résultats de la sélection préliminaire au plus tard le 1er mars 2018.

Tous les candidats choisis devront être à Montréal du 27 mai au 7 juin 2018 (voir transport et hébergement plus loin).

ÉPREUVES ET RÉPERTOIRE

Aria

  • Première épreuve : un maximum de 24 concurrents présenteront un programme de 15 minutes avec accompagnement au piano qui devra inclure trois (3) airs tirés du répertoire courant dans au moins deux (2) langues différentes. Les 12 chanteurs qui recevront les meilleurs résultats de la part du jury international passeront en demi-finale.
  • Demi-finale : les douze (12) demi-finalistes présenteront un programme de 14 à 18 minutes avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal qui devra inclure trois (3) airs dans au moins deux (2) langues différentes. Les six (6) chanteurs qui recevront les meilleurs résultats de la part du jury international passeront en finale.
  • Finale : les six (6) finalistes présenteront un programme de 14 à 18 minutes avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal qui devra inclure trois (3) airs dans au moins deux (2) langues différentes.

Mélodie

  • Première épreuve : un maximum de 16 concurrents présenteront un programme de 15 minutes avec accompagnement au piano qui devra inclure des œuvres en français, anglais et allemand, avec au moins un (1) air de Franz Schubert. Les huit (8) chanteurs qui recevront les meilleurs résultats de la part du jury international passeront en demi-finale.
  • Demi-finale : les huit (8) demi-finalistes présenteront un programme de 20 à 25 minutes avec accompagnement au piano qui devra inclure des œuvres en français, allemand, et au moins une (1) autre langue. Les quatre (4) chanteurs qui recevront les meilleurs résultats de la part du jury international passeront en finale.
  • Finale : les quatre (4) finalistes présenteront un programme de 30 à 35 minutes avec accompagnement au piano qui devra inclure des œuvres dans au moins trois (3) langues différentes.

Le répertoire choisi pour les programmes au cours des épreuves du concours peut inclure n’importe laquelle des œuvres enregistrées pour les vidéos d’audition. Les candidats inscrits dans le volet Aria peuvent répéter un (1) air de leur programme de la première épreuve dans leur programme de la finale. Aucune autre duplication de répertoire n’est permise lors des épreuves du concours.

Les candidats inscrits dans le volet Aria doivent choisir leur répertoire pour la demi-finale et la finale dans la liste officielle du CMIM.

Les candidats qui incluront au moins un air tiré d’un oratorio, d’une cantate, d’une messe ou d’une passion dans leur programme des épreuves demi-finale ou finale sont éligibles pour le prix Oratorio.

Il est recommandé que les concurrents amènent leurs propres pianistes accompagnateurs à Montréal pour le concours (à leurs frais). Les pianistes accompagnateurs de toutes nationalités, nés le ou après le 1er janvier 1983, qui jouent au concours sont éligibles pour le Prix John-Newmark (10 000 $). Un pianiste officiel du CMIM sera attribué aux candidats sans pianistes accompagnateurs pour toutes les épreuves nécessitant le piano.

TRANSPORT ET HÉBERGEMENT

Le CMIM fournira un (1) vol aller-retour en classe économique du lieu de résidence du candidat à Montréal. Les candidats qui souhaitent prendre d’autres dispositions peuvent le faire à leurs propres frais. Le CMIM ne défraie pas les coûts de transport des accompagnateurs.

Le CMIM s’occupera également de l’hébergement du candidat (et de son accompagnateur, le cas échéant) avec des familles d’accueil dans la région de Montréal. Les candidats qui souhaitent prendre d’autres dispositions peuvent le faire à leurs propres frais.

La direction du CMIM se réserve le droit d’apporter des changements, si nécessaire, à l’information dans ce formulaire.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :
Scott Tresham, directeur des opérations artistiques et veille stratégique
Concours musical international de Montréal
stresham@concoursmontreal.ca
+1 514 845.4108 (poste 235)

Débuter une nouvelle application

Le mot de passe doit comporter un minimum de 8 caractères, avec au moins une lettre majuscule et un chiffre.